Trifecta Weekend Challenge: Perennial Love

Let me start by saying poetry is not part of my repertoire, nor is happy writing. For the Trifextra: Week Eighty-One prompt, Trifecta asked for “soul-soaring happiness” because we’ve turned too gloomy and doomy, of late. I tried some light and joy in the form of a poem, a little alliteration overload. (I can already hear the snickering.) Oh, and it had to be exactly 33 words.

Our inspiration this week was this fantastic photo: One year in one image by Eirik Solheim. Each thin section of the photo represents a different day of the year. It’s quite an amazing image.

Eirik Solheim Photo

Perennial Love

Our passion is perennial

enduring the blossoming of brilliant beginnings

the heat of feverish firsts

the frost of fleeting farewells

a blizzard of bonding breath

Our evolution of the endless seasons of love

36 thoughts on “Trifecta Weekend Challenge: Perennial Love

  1. I really enjoyed this! And I am a big fan of alliteration. I don’t care what anyone says about it. Hahaha.
    This reminds me of a Bahamian poem called “Poinciana Passion” which was in a book of poems and short stories we had to study in literature class (high school).
    -Alicia Audrey

    • Thanks, Alicia! I didn’t start out with all the alliteration. It just kind of happened, and I was unable to stop it. I haven’t heard of that poem, but there is a Poinciana, Florida near where I live. As if that is even relevant. 🙂

  2. I very much like the phrase ‘evolutions of endless seasons of love’. This piece has a lovely erotic tone about it for me. Well done.

  3. The heat of feverish firsts is just lovely. I kinda wish I’d written it. 🙂 Thanks for linking up and being a good sport about trying something you don’t usually do. Don’t forget to come back and vote.

Let's talk about your feelings.

