Trifecta Week Ninety-Three: Too Soon

Sunset BWThe silky darkness envelopes me, wraps me in its grace. Shadows flutter through the murkiness. Sounds pulse with muffled reassurance.

My dwelling is comforting and familiar, but I know my time is limited. They call to me, begging with an urgency unlike anything I have ever known. I struggle desperately to ignore them. I am unprepared to cross the threshold into their world.

As defiant as I am, I cannot stop evolution. My day has come.

With a forceful whoosh and a maddening howl of annoyance, I am prematurely born into their perplexing world. I hear the melodic voice of my mother and feel her warm tears drip onto my bluish skin as I draw my third and final breath.

This week’s Trifecta writing challenge is to use the word, grace. The third meaning of the word, of course:

3. GRACE

a : a charming or attractive trait or characteristic
b : a pleasing appearance or effect : charm <all the grace of youth — John Buchan>
c : ease and suppleness of movement or bearing

29 thoughts on “Trifecta Week Ninety-Three: Too Soon

    • I’ll assume that’s a good thing, although I’m not sure since the reactions to this piece are mixed. I think I wrote about too difficult of a subject. I went from sweetness and light to the dark depths of despair in one fell swoop.

  1. Grace….Enjoyed your piece….although for me the definition of grace is “God’s unmerited favor” How ever with that being said I do enjoy your pieces very much Lisa…and may God grant you grace for such a time as this…..Love you

    • Sherry, I’m glad you enjoyed it. The writing challenge was to use the specific definitions listed above for the word “grace.” Aside from the obvious theological definition of the word, there are about 10-15 other definitions in the dictionary that are not necessarily based in religion. The English language is complex. Love you too!

  2. So sad. Don’t apologize for your writing unless you’re being purposely sensational. I don’t see you doing that here. Thanks for linking up. Don’t forget to go back to Trifecta and vote for your top three.

Let's talk about your feelings.

