Secondhand Wife: A Friday Fictioneers Tale

Friday Fictioneers 2nd Hand

Copyright John Nixon

He would joke to his society friends, “She’s my secondhand wife. I picked her up in a consignment shop. Gave her a real life.”

They would laugh, uncomfortable, and look at me with a mix of pity and arrogance. Sorry that I was not their kind. Confident I never would be.

I would smile like a mannequin selling a pretty, used dress. The good wife. The beautiful prize. Always kept in my rightful place by a stand-out narcissist amongst the elite.

That was before. Before I sold him to the highest bidder. A first-class assassin for a high-end husband.

If you would like to join this writing prompt based on the photograph, go to Friday Fictioneers. The challenge is to write a 100-word story with a beginning, middle and end. I did it in 99 words. I hope you enjoyed it. Feedback is always appreciated.

32 thoughts on “Secondhand Wife: A Friday Fictioneers Tale

Let's talk about your feelings.

