Trifecta Week Ninety-Seven: The Blue Dress

“What do you think about this one? Does it make me look fat?” she asked holding up a blue sleeveless dress she’d worn a million times.

“No. Just pick. We have to go,” he replied with impatience, tapping his wristwatch.

She stared at him, clearly hurt by his dismissal of her feelings. She chucked the dress at him and stomped off to the closet. He rubbed his eyes with the palms of his hands and whispered, “No that doesn’t make you look like a fat-ass, dear.”

“I heard that!” she yelled from the closet. “Are you saying my ass is fat?”

“I said it didn’t make you look fat. You. Are. Not. Fat,” he yelled back.

She emerged from the closet wearing nothing but a scowl and leaned against the doorframe. He waited for her to either cry or lash him with a sarcastic retort. He found it difficult to predict her mood. Their eyes locked until he couldn’t take it anymore. He visually wandered around the curves of her naked body, lingered over her scenic parts until he stopped on her most stunning, picturesque view.

“What are you staring at?” she asked with a smirk.

He looked away shyly and stood. “You know what I’m looking at. Now, put this on so we can go,” he said holding out the blue dress.

Giving in, she snatched it from him. “You’re right. This one’s my favorite.”

She slipped on her underwear and squeezed into the dress. Admiring her reflection in the mirror, she said, “It wasn’t this tight last time I wore it.”

He hugged her tenderly and said, “You ready now? Our appointment’s in less than two hours.”

She pulled away and stroked her pregnant belly. “Yep. I think we’re both ready now.”

So, the challenge for Trifecta Week 97 was to use the third definition of the word:

ASS 3. (adverb/adjective) often vulgar—often used as a postpositive intensive especially with words of derogatory implication <fancy-ass>.

This could have gone horribly vulgar and dark, but I decided to lighten it up for this challenge. I’ll return to my regularly scheduled intense creepiness next time.

26 thoughts on “Trifecta Week Ninety-Seven: The Blue Dress

  1. Oh. Wow, I really loved this one.
    Loved how it took us from intimacy to a pregnant belly. As a survivor of infertility I think that I internalize pieces like this more than most, but I felt all those emotions with her, even if she hadn’t struggled for that belly.

    Just really liked this.

Let's talk about your feelings.

