Severed Love: A Friday Fictioneers Tale

Friday Fictioneers 10-22

Copyright – Sean Fallon

“I just don’t love you anymore,” he said, as the beaded sweat evaporated from our bare bodies.

My heart raced at his words, just as it had at his touch. I felt damaged, manipulated, outraged.

I watched him casually dress. His face wore a look of relief; his brunette burden finally lifted.

“What now?” I asked, feigning indifference.

“Not sure. Maybe travel a while and get my head straight.”

A man of his word, his arms traveled downriver. The rest of him traveled to the place where we first met. I ensured his head was straight with an unobstructed view.

This disturbing piece of prose was written for Friday Fictioneers photo prompt. The challenge was to write a 100-word story based on the photo. As always, thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting this challenge. You can check out the other stories and poems here.

31 thoughts on “Severed Love: A Friday Fictioneers Tale

    • Thanks, Janna! There’s nothing wrong with you. I didn’t write it as humor, but it is funny. I think there might be something wrong with me. I have a penchant for gruesome stories of jilted women who take revenge on their lovers.

  1. Lisa, very chilling and well written. I love the lead in to that final paragraph: the distant lover, the callous disregard of their relationship… the final lines take it somewhere else, and change my sympathies. But that makes for a good story. 😉

Let's talk about your feelings.

