A Shroud of Ignorance

The gauzy air settles upon my skin like a refreshing gift. It shrouds the harsh sun for a brief, breathtaking moment, and I hungrily gulp it in. If only I could bottle this feeling of freedom, this peaceful respite, for the others.

A distant voice reaches my ears, and I cringe. I have lingered too long, adrift in reverie. They are too close. I turn from the polluted river and silently retreat into the dead forest. I watch them tromp by, ignorant and apathetic, and imagine the day when we reclaim our once flourishing planet from the greedy humans.

This story was written for Friday Fictioneers 100-word photo prompt hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Click here to read the other stories.
37 thoughts on “A Shroud of Ignorance

Let's talk about your feelings.

