Collecting Stories

Friday Fictioneers 10-17

Photo Copyright: Douglas M. MacIlroy

Mama collected. Everything. She said every object had worth, a history. It was her calling to tell their stories in her art.

She rummaged and searched, brought home strays and leftovers. She lost herself in jagged tales of glass, crumbled fables of stone, and splintered sagas of wood. Beautifully woven rubbish.

She discarded my story, forgot my worth.

Mama died a year ago, but she’s still here watching over me. Jagged glass had more than one use, more than one story to tell. I think she’d be pleased with my cutting-edge memoir of her.


This story was written for Friday Fictioneers; 100 words or less based on the photo. I’ve been gone a while. I almost forgot how to write and blog, but it came back to me. Click on the badge below if you would like to read some of the other stories.

40 thoughts on “Collecting Stories

    • You introduced a new interpretation of the story, suicide. I meant it to show the daughter killed her mother and used her in the art, continuing her mother’s legacy of collecting and telling stories. I can definitely see how you came to the conclusion of suicide though. I’m often too vague in my writing, leading to more than one story, but I rather like the idea that I’ve created a bit of mystery. I’ll let the readers decide. Thanks for reading!

  1. My first thought was that the daughter killed her mother, and I see from your reply to a comment that this is what happened. I loved the line “Beautifully woven rubbish” – I can almost hear the daughter spitting those words out, her face twisted and bitter.

  2. Dear Lisa,

    I’m pleased…well maybe that’s not the word…to see that I interpreted your story correctly. I thought she’d murdered her mother. Powerful writing. The clipped style made it stronger.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. Dear Lisa,

    At first I thought suicide but then realized that something else had occurred, something far more sinister and, for the reader, more powerful. You really knocked this one out of the emotional and atmospheric park.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  4. Great stuff – forgetting the people in her life and obsessing over the things, which leads to her daughter ‘seizing her attention’ via the murder (or that’s how I read it). Dark and very clever.

Let's talk about your feelings.