Below the Surface

Friday Fictioneers 09-05

Photo Copyright: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

“Tell me the story again, Mommy,” begged Myrtle.

“Once more, then sleep, sweetheart,” Olive replied.

“There once was a sprout who tried to push out, but she just couldn’t find her way. She looked to the sun, but there was none, blinded by lazy haze. She called to the rain, but it fell in a blaze, so the sprout just withered away.”

“Mommy, will I ever see real plants and rain and sun and a bonfire under the stars?”

“Someday, when it’s safe outside, maybe we’ll discover a sprout up on the surface. Until then, we have our cyber-nature.”


This far-fetched tale brought to you by the Friday Fictioneers photo prompt. The challenge is to write a 100-word or less story based on the photo. I heard a rumor that today (9/4) is Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ birthday. Happy Birthday to our gracious host.

Click on the badge below to read the other stories and poems:

34 thoughts on “Below the Surface

  1. I liked this very much. A great idea from the prompt. I just wasn’t sure about the last line. It was too telling. I think the mother said that for the benefit of the reader rather than her daughter. Just a thought.
    Claire

  2. I love the mom’s poetic story. I hope this never comes to be. I’m not sure I could never be into cyber-nature. A really creative direction with the prompt, Lisa. I enjoyed it.

  3. Lisa, I agree that a future like that is scary. O_o We better stop the rampant pollution or we may see it sooner than we think. There’s no other place we can escape to. I’d rather not think of artificial nature. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

Let's talk about your feelings.