The Petty Pursuit of Happiness

Friday Fictioneers 06-13

Photo Copyright Ted Strutz

Lousy tourists float in on their tacky boats with their snotty attitudes, treating the locals like their personal hired help. Through my reinforced window, I watch them play out their leisurely lives, indulging excessively, spending more on two-day trysts than I make in a month as town mortician.

I dream of escaping from this miserable place, getting lost at sea, but for now, I must bide my time. I grab my forceps and look into the mouth of another dead tourist. This one’s a gold mine. Her capped teeth won’t be missed. My retirement account just hit the mother lode.


It’s been a few weeks since I’ve participated in Friday Fictioneers; in fact, I haven’t been able to blog much lately. My 100-word story isn’t really supposed to be funny, but I laughed at it. It’s kind of ghoulishly ridiculous.

Thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting this gold mine of a challenge, that lures more than a 100 feverish fictioneers each week. We are truly wealthier for being a part of her writing community. Click the badge below to join:

25 thoughts on “The Petty Pursuit of Happiness

  1. I love the character’s voice in this story – I suspect they will be too bitter by the time they retire to get any real pleasure, though it sounds like dead tourists are a regular thing, so it may come fairly soon!

    • I agree, Siobhan. He is too bitter to ever achieve happiness. Besides, he doesn’t deserve it with his penchant for necro-robbery. I think I just made up a new word. 😉 Thanks for reading, Siobhan!

  2. Well, he’s full of cheer. Maybe it’s time he found another job. I hope the teeth won’t be missed and that she hadn’t left them as a bequest to anyone. 😉

    • Thanks so much, Dawn! I appreciate you taking the time to visit and comment. I’m not doing too well at keeping up with reading and commenting. I’m behind after having multiple guests at my house over the last week. There’s never enough time. 🙂

      • I hear you! I’ve been in 4 states in 6 weeks, celebrated 4 graduations and a wedding, had guests from Germany, and now I’m packing for 3 weeks away… keeping up is nearly impossible! You do what you can, but I’ve missed you at FF Lisa. Take care! 🙂

Let's talk about your feelings.